COLLECTORS TALK

The Kashmir Shawls by Romi Lamba

1/5

Shawls of Paisley design were in fashion for nearly 100 years, from 1790-1870, during which time tens of thousands were woven and embroidered in Kashmir and Europe, particularly in Scotland, England and France. The Kashmir shawls, known as Jamewaar shawls in India, were all hand woven in a unique style of tapestry weaving that is now a lost art, and are considered by many to be among the most beautiful and intricate examples of textile and carpet weaving. Together with their European counterparts, these shawls and their paisley-based designs have left their permanent mark on the history of textile design.

Private collector Romi Lamba, will talk about the history of Kashmir and European shawls. Highlighting various aspects of shawl weaving and design, he will illustrate his presentation by displaying several shawls from his own collection, which includes both antique Kashmir and European shawls dating from 1820 to 1890. Kashmir shawls were all hand woven in a unique style of tapestry weaving that is now a lost art, and are considered by many to be among the most beautiful and intricate examples of textile and carpet weaving. 

DATE 

28 JUNE 2021 

TIME
18:00 HKT (Monday)

11:00 BST (Monday)

12:00 CEST (Monday)

19:00 I (Monday)

14:00 UAE (Monday)

SPEAKER

Romi Lamba

MODERATOR

Trina Lee Johnson

INFORMATION

info.asiaarthk@gmail.com

About the speaker

Romi Lamba has been collecting shawls for the past 30 years in the U.S., England and India. He works in Finance and lives in Hong Kong.

About the moderator

Trina Lee Johnson is an independent researcher and art advisor based in London. She sits on the committee for the World Musea Forum '21 as a part of Asia Art Hong Kong. She has over ten years of experience working in the art industry having previously managed several West End commercial art galleries and worked in the Chinese department for an auction house. She obtained her Masters in East Asian Art from Sotheby's Institute of Art in 2009. Trina specialises in Asian, Indian and Islamic art.